Peptides101

Epitalon

Also sold as: Epithalon, AEDG peptide, Ala-Glu-Asp-Gly, Epitalon acetate, Epitalon (free base)

Epitalon is not an FDA-approved drug and is not a component of one, it has no USP or NF monograph, and FDA staff proposed, in their briefing document for the Pharmacy Compounding Advisory Committee meeting of 23-24 July 2026, not to add epitalon (free base) or epitalon acetate to the 503A bulks list — which would leave all three routes to eligibility under section 503A closed. It is absent from that list today because both nominations were withdrawn by the nominators, not because it was cleared. FDA's literature search found three published studies that administered epitalon to humans — one of them randomised and placebo-controlled — but all used sublingual or parabulbar routes rather than the subcutaneous injection the nominations proposed; FDA states it 'did not identify studies evaluating the use of these substances in patients with insomnia', and that the one study measuring a melatonin metabolite 'did not evaluate sleep outcomes'. FDA concluded there are no clinical data supporting the safety of either substance in humans, and found no pharmacokinetic data at all.

Which molecule this is. A synthetic tetrapeptide (Ala-Glu-Asp-Gly). FDA evaluates two related substances: epitalon (free base) and epitalon acetate — and notes the nominators' own packages were internally inconsistent about WHICH of the two they meant, with each Certificate of Analysis naming one substance in the title and a different one by molecular weight/formula. Separately, and more consequentially for readers: EPITALON AND EPITHALAMIN ARE NOT THE SAME SUBSTANCE. Epithalamin is a polypeptide complex extracted from animal (bovine/calf) pineal gland; epitalon is a synthetic tetrapeptide first synthesised around 1999 precisely because calf pineal gland was in limited supply. FDA states it 'considers epitalon and epithalamin as different substances', and epithalamin is not listed as a synonym for epitalon under UNII O65P17785G. This matters because seven of the articles the nominators submitted in support of epitalon studied epithalamin instead. Marketing copy that cites the human 'pineal peptide prolongs life' literature is frequently citing the animal-extract substance, not the peptide in the vial.

The FDA advisory committee vote, 24 July 2026

The Pharmacy Compounding Advisory Committee voted to recommend adding this substance to the 503A bulks list (7-5, one abstention), against FDA’s own staff, who had recommended not adding it.

It is still not on the list. An advisory committee makes recommendations; it does not change what is permitted. We checked the 503A bulks list on 29 July 2026 and it is still dated 14 May 2026, with this substance absent from it. Adding a substance requires separate FDA action, which has not happened.

Vote tally reported by ABC News and other outlets; FDA had not published minutes or a transcript as of 29 July 2026, so there is no primary document for the tally yet. We will replace it with FDA’s own record when it publishes. The bulks-list status is from the primary document.

FDA status

Not FDA-approved

FDA has not approved this and it is not in active development toward approval. That says nothing about whether it is being sold — most substances in this category are.

Not an FDA-approved drug for any indication, and not in active development toward approval. That says nothing about whether it is sold — it is.

503A compounding

Withdrawn from nomination

The nominator withdrew the nomination. This is not a legalisation event — the substance is not on the 503A bulks list and remains non-compoundable.

Absent from Categories 1, 2 and 3 in the list updated 2026-05-14 — verified by fetching and text-extracting the document directly. Category 2 contains exactly six substances, none of them epitalon. (Corrected 2026-07-16: this note previously said no consumer peptide was among the six, which is false — Kisspeptin-10 is a peptide and ibutamoren mesylate is sold throughout this same market. The accurate statement is narrower: none of the seven peptides before PCAC on 2026-07-23/24 is in Category 2. They are absent from the list entirely.) Epitalon was nominated (twice — Wells Pharmacy Network, and LDT Health Solutions on behalf of the International Peptide Society) and BOTH NOMINATIONS WERE WITHDRAWN by the nominators. That is why it is off the list: withdrawal, not legalisation. It did not enter Category 1, it is not on the 503A bulks list, and it remains non-compoundable. Note the unusual posture: FDA is evaluating epitalon ON ITS OWN INITIATIVE despite the withdrawals, and considered the withdrawn nomination materials as part of that evaluation — so withdrawal did not end FDA's scrutiny, it merely removed the nominators from it.

Evidence

Promising but unproven

There is human data, but efficacy is not established. This includes programmes that were tested and failed.

ADMINISTRATION CHECK RUN AND PASSED — and it changes the answer. FDA's briefing document states verbatim: 'three studies were found in which epitalon was administered to humans.' These are NOT endogenous-biomarker studies (the trap that reduces MOTS-c and TB-500 to zero); the peptide was given to people. The strongest is Ivko et al. 2021, which FDA describes as 'a randomized, placebo-controlled study' of healthy women aged 40-50 primarily working night shifts (n = 75 screened; 40 with low melatonin-metabolite excretion randomised to peptide or saline placebo for 20 days), reporting a 1.7-fold rise in urinary 6-sulfatoxymelatonin versus no change on placebo. So the tier is NOT 'animal-or-in-vitro-only' (a human RCT exists) and NOT 'no-credible-evidence' (a placebo-controlled human signal exists). It is 'promising-but-unproven' in the strict sense the label carries here: human data exists, efficacy is established for nothing. WHY 'UNPROVEN' IS DOING ALL THE WORK: (i) the endpoint was a melatonin METABOLITE, a surrogate — FDA's reviewers note the study 'did not evaluate sleep outcomes' at all, so a peptide sold for sleep has never been measured against sleep; (ii) FDA: 'we did not identify studies evaluating the use of these substances in patients with insomnia'; (iii) the publication did not specify blinding, and the reviewers flag short duration and small size; (iv) the authors' claim that subjects showed 'distinct positive dynamics of psycho-emotional and general physical condition in 83% of cases' came with no description of how either was assessed; (v) ROUTE MISMATCH — all three human studies used sublingual or parabulbar routes, while the route the nominations proposed is subcutaneous injection, for which FDA identified no human data at all; (vi) PROVENANCE — all three human studies trace to a single research lineage (Khavinson's group, which originated the peptide and authored the telomerase hypothesis), and the two night-shift studies (Ivko et al. 2021; Khavinson et al. 2021) share authors and population, so they may not be independent replications of one another. ClinicalTrials.gov holds zero registrations under any spelling, so there is no registered, results-reporting programme behind any of this.

What FDA found

FDA’s own words. These are the most citable thing on this site, and the least likely to appear anywhere funded by someone selling the compound.

  • FDA staff propose not adding epitalon (free base) or epitalon acetate to the 503A Bulks List, ahead of the Pharmacy Compounding Advisory Committee meeting on 23-24 July 2026.

    A staff proposal is not a final determination. The briefing document states: 'The FDA will not issue a final determination on the issues at hand until input from the advisory committee process has been considered and all reviews have been finalized.' FDA rests the proposal on four grounds: poor physicochemical characterisation, lack of data supporting safety in humans plus immunogenicity concern, lack of evidence of effectiveness for insomnia, and the availability of approved drugs for that condition.

    Epitalon-Related Bulk Drug Substances — FDA Briefing Document, Pharmacy Compounding Advisory Committee Meeting, July 23-24, 2026 FDA, 23 July 2026
    Accordingly, we propose not adding epitalon (free base) or epitalon acetate to the 503A Bulks List.
    Checked against the source on .
  • Neither epitalon (free base) nor epitalon acetate has a USP or NF drug substance monograph, and neither is a component of an FDA-approved drug.

    The two statutory doors that close before the list is even reached. Under section 503A a bulk drug substance may be used in compounding if it appears in an applicable USP or NF monograph, if it is a component of an FDA-approved drug, or if it appears on the 503A Bulks List. This sentence forecloses the first two. It also disposes of the 'FDA-approved' claim directly: if any approved drug product contained epitalon, epitalon would be a component of an FDA-approved drug.

    Epitalon-Related Bulk Drug Substances — FDA Briefing Document, Pharmacy Compounding Advisory Committee Meeting, July 23-24, 2026 FDA, 23 July 2026
    There is no applicable United States Pharmacopeia (USP) or National Formulary (NF) drug substance monograph for epitalon (free base) or its acetate form, and neither is a component of an FDA-approved drug.
    Checked against the source on .
  • FDA evaluated epitalon ONLY for insomnia. The uses it is actually marketed for — anti-aging, longevity, lengthening telomeres, prevention of age-related disease — were not evaluated, because the nominations did not include sufficient information for FDA to evaluate them.

    AN EVIDENTIARY VACUUM, NOT A REGULATORY LOOPHOLE — and the mismatch is the whole story of this compound. The market sells epitalon as a longevity drug; FDA assessed it as a sleep drug, because insomnia is the only proposed use anyone submitted enough information to support. 'FDA did not evaluate the longevity claims' does not mean the longevity claims survived scrutiny; it means nobody brought evidence to be scrutinised. Per the BPC-157 briefing's footnote 3, inclusion on the 503A Bulks List may not be limited to a specific use, so a 'do not add' outcome bars the substance for ALL indications regardless of which one FDA examined.

  • FDA found no clinical data supporting the safety of epitalon in humans, and identified no human safety data at all for the subcutaneous route the nominations proposed.

    Reconcile this with the evidence note rather than reading it as a contradiction: three studies administered epitalon to humans, but none was a safety study and none used the subcutaneous route. 'Human exposure has occurred' and 'human safety data exist' are different claims.

    Epitalon-Related Bulk Drug Substances — FDA Briefing Document, Pharmacy Compounding Advisory Committee Meeting, July 23-24, 2026 FDA, 23 July 2026
    we conclude that there are no clinical data to support the safety of epitalon (free base) or epitalon acetate when used in humans
    Checked against the source on .
  • Epitalon held an FDA orphan drug designation for retinitis pigmentosa granted 2010-09-02; the designation was withdrawn/revoked on 2016-01-06.

    Recorded because vendors cite the designation as quasi-approval. ORPHAN DESIGNATION IS NOT APPROVAL — it is an incentive status for developing a drug for a rare disease, granted before efficacy is shown. This one was for an eye disease, delivered by parabulbar injection, and it no longer exists. There is no FDA-approved epitalon product, which is why this record carries no fdaApproval field. FDA's document does not state the reason for the revocation and neither do we.

  • FDA could not establish historical use in compounding: no outsourcing facility has reported compounding epitalon to FDA, and FDA could not identify any pharmacy that compounds it.

    FDA notes wellness clinics that market epitalon state they obtain it from a compounding pharmacy, yet FDA could locate none. It found the substance sold online in vials, capsules and an oral spray, several vendors labelling it 'research use only'. The one documented compounding instance FDA cites is a criminal matter: a Nicholasville, Kentucky pharmacy and its owner pleaded guilty to unlawful distribution, having compounded and distributed epitalon-containing products between 2018-10-25 and 2020-04-01. Note the pattern this site keeps finding: category status is neither the safety line nor the criminal line. The Watkins indictment (D. Utah, 1:26-cr-00015, 2026-04-01) charges misbranding under 352(b), which is why Category 1 substances sit in the same indictment as substances that were never listed at all. Sourcing and labeling are the line.

  • FDA found no pharmacokinetic data whatsoever for either epitalon substance — nothing on absorption, distribution, metabolism or elimination in humans or animals.

    Eight words, and they undercut the entire marketing category. Pharmacokinetics is the most basic characterisation a drug receives — it is what converts a substance into a regimen. With no PK data, nothing is known about what happens to epitalon after it enters a person: not its half-life, not its bioavailability by any route, not whether an intact tetrapeptide survives to reach the pineal gland at all. Every cycling schedule sold online is therefore constructed on no measured human pharmacokinetics. Note how this interacts with the route mismatch elsewhere in this record: the three human studies used sublingual and parabulbar routes, and without PK there is no basis even to extrapolate from those routes to the subcutaneous one that is sold.

    Epitalon-Related Bulk Drug Substances — FDA Briefing Document, Pharmacy Compounding Advisory Committee Meeting, July 23-24, 2026 FDA, 23 July 2026
    No pharmacokinetic data were found for epitalon (free base) or epitalon acetate.
    Checked against the source on .
  • FDA searched its adverse-event databases and found zero reports for epitalon: no FAERS reports through 2025-12-08, and no cases in the Human Foods Complaint System through 2025-12-05.

    READ THIS BACKWARDS FROM HOW VENDORS READ IT. Zero adverse-event reports is not a safety finding; it is a reporting finding, and FDA says so in its own footnotes. Three mechanisms explain the zero without any reference to whether epitalon harms people: (i) FAERS reporting is voluntary — 'FDA does not receive all adverse event reports that may potentially occur with a product, especially for compounded products'; (ii) FDA states that compounders under section 503A 'generally do not report adverse events to FDA', and that unless a report is submitted the Agency 'may not be aware' of events; (iii) a substance sold in vials labelled for research has no reporting pathway at all, and a buyer who is injecting something they obtained online is poorly placed to file with FDA and may not know they can. FDA's own conclusion is the limiting one: it 'cannot make definitive conclusions regarding the safety of epitalon based on FAERS data alone'. An empty surveillance database on a substance nobody surveils is not evidence of anything, in either direction.

    Epitalon-Related Bulk Drug Substances — FDA Briefing Document, Pharmacy Compounding Advisory Committee Meeting, July 23-24, 2026 FDA, 23 July 2026
    A search of HFCS was conducted for AEs associated with epitalon through December 5, 2025, and retrieved no cases.
    Checked against the source on .
  • No epitalon product is approved anywhere FDA looked: not in the United States, and not in Canada, Australia, the United Kingdom, Belgium, Ireland, France, Norway, Germany, Spain or Italy. It is recognised in neither the European nor the Japanese Pharmacopeia.

    Recorded because the 'approved in Russia / used in Europe for decades' claim is a fixture of epitalon marketing, and because a reader checking one jurisdiction deserves the whole set in one place. FDA also states there are no epitalon products authorised for use in the European Union by the European Medicines Agency. Two further absences from the same document compound this: there is no USP or NF drug substance monograph for epitalon (free base) or its acetate form, and neither is a component of an FDA-approved drug. Those two facts are not trivia — under section 503A a bulk drug substance qualifies for compounding by appearing in a USP/NF monograph, by being a component of an approved drug, or by appearing on the 503A Bulks List. Epitalon satisfies none of the three. Beware the epithalamin equivocation here as well: any foreign-approval claim that rests on the animal-extract substance is a claim about a different substance (see moleculeNote).

    Epitalon-Related Bulk Drug Substances — FDA Briefing Document, Pharmacy Compounding Advisory Committee Meeting, July 23-24, 2026 FDA, 23 July 2026
    There are no approved products containing epitalon in Canada, Australia, the United Kingdom, Belgium, Ireland, France, Norway, Germany, Spain, and Italy.
    Checked against the source on .
  • FDA concluded there is a lack of evidence supporting effectiveness of either epitalon substance for insomnia, and identified no study evaluating either substance in patients who have insomnia.

    The precise shape of the gap, which is narrower and more damning than 'no evidence'. Human data exists; it is simply about the wrong thing, in the wrong people, by the wrong route. The one clinical study FDA retrieved measured a melatonin metabolite in HEALTHY night-shift women, not in patients with diagnosed insomnia, and FDA notes the study 'did not evaluate sleep outcomes' and 'did not discuss clinical applicability of study results or potential therapeutic effect for insomnia or other sleep disorders'. FDA's reviewers name the inferential leap explicitly: 'The potential therapeutic effect of changes in melatonin levels induced by these substances is unclear without a corresponding evaluation of clinical outcomes.' A surrogate moved. Whether anyone slept better was never measured.

    Epitalon-Related Bulk Drug Substances — FDA Briefing Document, Pharmacy Compounding Advisory Committee Meeting, July 23-24, 2026 FDA, 23 July 2026
    we did not identify studies evaluating the use of these substances in patients with insomnia, particularly when administered via the proposed SC ROA
    Checked against the source on .
  • The 'no side effects' claim commonly cited for epitalon traces to a conference abstract FDA could not evaluate — it was published in Russian, and reported no route, no duration, no subject count and no method of collecting safety data.

    Follow the citation and it evaporates. The Korkushko et al. 2007 abstract states that pineal gland preparations (epitalon and epithalamin) have 'no side effects' in elderly people — and that sentence, with nothing behind it, is a load-bearing beam of epitalon's safety reputation. FDA searched multiple databases and could not locate the full article in English. So the claim cannot be checked: no denominator, no follow-up period, no ascertainment method. It also lumps epitalon together with epithalamin, the animal-extract substance FDA treats as different. Note the asymmetry that makes this citation worthless rather than merely weak: an abstract too thin to describe its own methods is exactly the study least able to detect a side effect, and 'nothing was found' by a method that could not find anything is not a finding.

    Epitalon-Related Bulk Drug Substances — FDA Briefing Document, Pharmacy Compounding Advisory Committee Meeting, July 23-24, 2026 FDA, 23 July 2026
    details such as ROA, dosing information, duration of administration, number of subjects and demographics, and methods of safety data collection were not provided in the abstract
    Checked against the source on .

Documented safety signals

  • The telomerase mechanism epitalon is marketed FOR is the same mechanism FDA flags as a carcinogenicity concern under chronic continuous use.

    THE SINGLE MOST INVERTED CLAIM IN THIS COMPOUND'S MARKETING. Vendor and clinic pages sell telomerase activation as the benefit — 'the fountain of youth', per FDA's own survey of those sites. FDA's reviewers take the same reported mechanism and read it as a hazard: cells that evade senescence are the definition of cancerous. FDA also cites literature associating long telomeres with INCREASED malignancy risk (McNally et al. 2019). Attribute carefully, in both directions: the telomerase and telomere-elongation findings come from in-vitro work in cultured human fetal lung fibroblasts (Khavinson et al. 2003; Malinin and Khavinson 2005) — cell culture, not people — so neither the benefit claim nor the cancer concern is established in humans. The honest statement is that the mechanism is unproven and its DIRECTION of effect in a living human is unknown, and 'unknown' is not the same as 'safe'. FDA notes the dependence on regimen: the mouse studies reporting reduced tumour incidence used INTERMITTENT exposure, whereas the concern is raised for CONTINUOUS lifelong exposure — which is closer to how the substance is marketed for use.

    Epitalon-Related Bulk Drug Substances — FDA Briefing Document, Pharmacy Compounding Advisory Committee Meeting, July 23-24, 2026 FDA, 23 July 2026
    reports that epitalon can activate telomerase and lengthen telomeres raise concerns that continuous exposure to epitalon through the lifespan could enable cells to evade senescence and become cancerous
    Checked against the source on .
  • No 2-year carcinogenicity study of epitalon exists, and FDA states the existing mouse tumour studies are too short to detect carcinogenic potential.

    The three mouse studies most often cited as evidence that epitalon PREVENTS cancer (Anisimov et al. 2001b, 2002b, 2003) were all conducted by one research group, all used a single fixed dose (so no dose-response could be assessed), and all used female mice only. FDA notes total exposure in those studies fell far short of the 12+ months needed for sensitivity, citing Haseman et al. 2001 that 12-18 month rodent treatment already corresponds to evaluating cancer in 30-50 year old humans and markedly reduces detection sensitivity. FDA identified no 2-year carcinogenicity study and no data sufficient for a weight-of-evidence analysis. Absence of a tumour finding in an underpowered short study is not evidence of safety.

  • FDA raised an immunogenicity concern specific to the injectable route the nominations proposed, and concluded available data are insufficient to rule the risk out.

    Grounded in aggregation: peptides as short as two amino acids can aggregate, and aggregates are a risk factor for immunogenicity and anti-drug antibody formation. FDA notes injectable routes may present a particular (systemic rather than local) immunogenicity risk, and that peptide stability and immunogenic properties are highly sensitive to the manufacturing process and quality of the finished product — which is exactly the variable an unregulated supply chain does not control. No clinical study has assessed immunogenicity or aggregation of either epitalon substance.

  • FDA identified no pharmacokinetic data and no clinical safety study for either epitalon substance, and states there is a lack of important information about subcutaneous use including whether it would cause harm in humans.

    The honest summary of epitalon's safety record, in FDA's own words: the question is open. Not answered reassuringly, not answered alarmingly — unasked. Assembling the absences from across this document: no pharmacokinetic data of any kind; no clinical study assessing safety; no study assessing immunogenicity or aggregation; no 2-year carcinogenicity study; zero adverse-event reports from surveillance systems that a research-labelled online product never reaches. Each is separately sourced above. The failure mode this record exists to prevent is reading that stack of absences as a clean bill of health. Nothing here has been tested and passed. It has not been tested.

    Epitalon-Related Bulk Drug Substances — FDA Briefing Document, Pharmacy Compounding Advisory Committee Meeting, July 23-24, 2026 FDA, 23 July 2026
    there is a lack of important information regarding the use of these substances administered subcutaneously, including whether the drug would cause harm if administered to humans
    Checked against the source on .
  • FDA could not adequately characterise the substance physicochemically: no Certificate of Analysis for epitalon (free base) existed in the nomination packages, and no bioburden or endotoxin testing was mentioned for epitalon acetate.

    Unglamorous and arguably the most practically important signal here. Endotoxin and bioburden are the tests that catch a contaminated injectable; FDA notes the proposed subcutaneous route is generally associated with increased risk from impurities. Poor characterisation is the FIRST of the four grounds FDA gives for proposing not to add these substances — before efficacy. If the identity and purity of the powder are unestablished, every downstream claim about what it does is unanchored, whichever direction it points.

Questions people actually ask

Every answer cites the document behind it. Where the honest answer is “nobody knows”, that is the answer you will get.

Is epitalon legal in 2026?

Epitalon is not eligible for use in pharmacy compounding under section 503A. A bulk drug substance qualifies only by appearing in a USP or NF monograph, by being a component of an FDA-approved drug, or by appearing on FDA's 503A bulks list, and FDA's briefing document for the July 2026 advisory committee meeting states that epitalon meets none of the three: there is no USP or NF monograph for epitalon (free base) or its acetate form, neither is a component of an FDA-approved drug, and FDA staff propose not adding either to the bulks list. Its absence from the bulks list is not permission — the two nominations that would have placed it there were withdrawn by the nominators. Separately, a category or list status is not a statement about whether possessing or selling a substance is lawful: the compounding pharmacy FDA cites in connection with epitalon pleaded guilty to unlawful distribution over conduct in 2018-2020, when epitalon was in no category at all.

Did epitalon become legal again when FDA removed it from the nomination list?

No. Epitalon left FDA's 503A nomination track because both nominations for it — from Wells Pharmacy Network and from LDT Health Solutions on behalf of the International Peptide Society — were withdrawn by the nominators, not because FDA evaluated it favourably. Withdrawal moves a substance sideways, not toward legality: epitalon did not enter Category 1, it is not on the 503A bulks list, and it remains ineligible for compounding. FDA's own posture shows withdrawal ended nothing — the Agency is evaluating epitalon (free base) and epitalon acetate on its own initiative despite the withdrawals, considered the withdrawn nomination materials as part of that evaluation, and its staff proposed not to add either substance to the list ahead of the advisory committee meeting of 23-24 July 2026.

Did FDA approve epitalon?

No. There is no FDA-approved drug product containing epitalon, and FDA's briefing document for the July 2026 advisory committee meeting states that neither epitalon (free base) nor epitalon acetate is a component of an FDA-approved drug. FDA also found no approved epitalon products in Canada, Australia, the United Kingdom, Belgium, Ireland, France, Norway, Germany, Spain or Italy, none authorised in the European Union by the European Medicines Agency, and no recognition in the European or Japanese Pharmacopeia. Epitalon did hold an FDA orphan drug designation for retinitis pigmentosa granted 2010-09-02, and that designation was withdrawn or revoked on 2016-01-06 — orphan designation is an incentive status granted before efficacy is shown, it is not approval, and this one no longer exists.

Is there any human evidence that epitalon works?

There is human data, but it establishes efficacy for nothing. FDA's literature search found three published studies in which epitalon was administered to humans — two in night-shift workers by the sublingual route and one by parabulbar injection in patients with congenital retinitis pigmentosa. FDA describes one of them (Ivko et al. 2021) as a randomised, placebo-controlled study in healthy women aged 40-50 in which researchers reported urinary excretion of a melatonin metabolite rose 1.7-fold against no change on placebo. FDA's reviewers note that study did not evaluate sleep outcomes, did not specify blinding, and was short and small, and that FDA 'did not identify studies evaluating the use of these substances in patients with insomnia'. No human study used the subcutaneous route the nominations proposed, and ClinicalTrials.gov holds no registrations under epitalon, epithalon or AEDG (queried 2026-07-16). No human study of any kind has tested the anti-aging or longevity uses epitalon is marketed for.

Can I get epitalon from a compounding pharmacy?

FDA could not find a single pharmacy that compounds epitalon. Its briefing document for the July 2026 advisory committee meeting records that no outsourcing facility has reported compounding epitalon-containing drug products to FDA, and that although wellness clinics marketing epitalon state they obtain it from a compounding pharmacy, FDA was unable to identify any pharmacy that compounds any form of it. FDA concluded that available data are too limited for it to understand the historical use of any form of epitalon in compounded drug products. What FDA did find was epitalon sold online in vials, capsules and an oral spray, with several sites stating the product is intended for research use only. The one documented instance of epitalon compounding FDA cites is a criminal matter: a Nicholasville, Kentucky pharmacy and its owner pleaded guilty to unlawful distribution after compounding and distributing epitalon-containing products between 2018-10-25 and 2020-04-01.

Is epitalon safe?

Nobody knows, and FDA says so: its briefing document for the July 2026 advisory committee meeting concludes there are no clinical data to support the safety of epitalon (free base) or epitalon acetate when used in humans, and that there is a lack of important information about subcutaneous use 'including whether the drug would cause harm if administered to humans'. FDA found no pharmacokinetic data for either substance, no clinical study assessing their safety, and no study assessing immunogenicity or aggregation. Searches of FDA's adverse-event systems returned zero reports, which is not evidence of safety: FDA notes that reporting is voluntary, that compounders under section 503A generally do not report adverse events to the Agency, and that it 'cannot make definitive conclusions regarding the safety of epitalon based on FAERS data alone'. FDA raised two specific unresolved concerns — immunogenicity from peptide aggregation and impurities by the injectable route, and carcinogenic potential. On the second, FDA's reviewers join two independent premises: that epitalon has been reported to activate telomerase and lengthen telomeres — reported in cultured human fetal lung fibroblasts (Khavinson et al. 2003; Malinin and Khavinson 2005), cell culture rather than people — and, separately from the epitalon literature, that longer telomeres are generally associated with increased risk for cancer (McNally et al. 2019). From those, FDA reasons that continuous exposure across the lifespan 'could enable cells to evade senescence and become cancerous'. There is no 2-year carcinogenicity study of epitalon.

Does epitalon lengthen telomeres?

Not demonstrated in humans. FDA's briefing document for the July 2026 advisory committee meeting reports that epitalon has been shown to activate telomerase and lengthen telomeres, but the underlying work FDA cites (Khavinson et al. 2003; Malinin and Khavinson 2005) was conducted in cultured human fetal lung fibroblasts — cell culture, not people. No human study has measured telomere length after epitalon administration. FDA does not treat that reported mechanism as a benefit: its reviewers state that reports epitalon can activate telomerase and lengthen telomeres 'raise concerns that continuous exposure to epitalon through the lifespan could enable cells to evade senescence and become cancerous', and note that longer telomeres are generally associated with increased risk for cancer. The same in-vitro finding that vendor sites sell as anti-aging is the finding FDA flags as a carcinogenicity concern, and neither reading is established in humans.

We do not publish dosing. Not for this compound and not for any other — here is why.

peptides101.com carries no advertising, accepts no sponsorship, sells no products, and earns no commission on anything we write about.

Last verified . Found an error? Tell us.